Draupadi Murmu is the country’s first tribal and second woman elected President of the Republic

Draupadi Murmu has become the new President of the country. She is the first tribal and the second woman to hold this position. The results of the presidential election were announced on Thursday at Parliament House, where the votes were counted today. However, Draupadi Murmu’s victory was almost certain as several other political parties along with the ruling coalition made her their first choice. Let us know that 34 parties had announced their support for opposition candidates and former Union Minister Yashwant Sinha. While 44 parties had announced their support for former Jharkhand Governor Draupadi Murmu.

Finally, Draupadi Murmu was elected as the 15th President of the country. However, with his candidacy, his victory was considered certain. Even in the counting of votes, the opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha looked behind from the beginning. 64-year-old Draupadi Murmu belongs to the Santhal tribal community. The third race is still being counted and her victory is yet to be formally announced.

Advance from the first round

Let me tell you that they were ahead in the first round of presidential election vote counting. The total number of valid votes cast by MPs was 748, of which 540 are in favor of Draupadi Murmu, and 204 votes for the opposing candidate. Yashwant Sinha. 15 votes were declared invalid.

Celebration before voting

Interestingly, even before the counting of votes, NDA candidate Draupadi Murmu’s home village was in a festive mood, with villagers taking out a procession and dancing in joy.

Taranson Todo, brother of Draupadi Murmu, said that there is an atmosphere of joy in our village as it is a matter of pride for the tribal community, Odisha, and the country.

 what happened

The current president of the country, Ram Nath Kovind, will expire on July 24 and the new president will take oath on July 25. Ballot papers from all the states were brought to the Parliament House. Election officials counted the votes in Parliament Room No. 63. Chief Electoral Officer Rajya Sabha Secretary General PC Modi was supervising the counting of votes.

Modi first shared the information about the electoral trends after counting the votes of the MPs and then shared the information again after the alphabetical counting of the votes of the 10 states.

Ninety-nine percent polling

Importantly, voting for the presidential election was held on Monday from 10 am to 5 pm at 31 locations including the Parliament House and 30 centers within the Assemblies. There was also ‘cross-voting’ in favor of Murmu in several states.

Members of both houses of Parliament, the Lok Sabha, and the Rajya Sabha, and members of all state legislative assemblies, other than nominated members, vote in presidential elections.

How many votes were there in total?

A total of 4,809 voters, including 776 MPs and 4,033 elected MLAs, were eligible to vote in the presidential election. Nominated MPs and MLAs and members of the Legislative Council cannot vote in it. According to the Election Commission, more than 99 percent of the voters exercised their right to vote during the voting.

Eight MLAs, including Bharatiya Janata Party MPs Sunny Deol and Sanjay Dhotre, could not vote. Deol has gone abroad for treatment during the polls while Dhutre is admitted to the ICU. MLAs each from BJP and Shiv Sena, Bahujan Samaj Party, Congress, Samajwadi Party and AIMIM on Monday. Kovind won the presidential election in 2017 by securing 7,02,044 votes out of a total of 10,69,358 votes. His rival Meera Kumar got only 3,67,314 votes.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *